Too Close to Home

Today I received some very sad yet common news.  The village in which I taught, Burin, was attacked by settlers on January 7th, last Saturday.  As this was happening, I was preparing for a party at my apartment.  I was throwing a party while my fourteen year old students along with all the other villagers were threatened and attacked.

Only one person was injured, thank god.  The youth of Burin managed to keep most of the settlers away with their stones.  Ten of the fifty settlers were armed with M-16s.

I know this is every day news for Palestine, but for it to affect a place so personal to me, and while I am so far away throwing parties or making lattes or what have you, it was quite the shocking news.  I hate not knowing what is going on there every single day.

Leave a Reply

